Layayoga: The Definitive Guide to the Chakras and Kundalini

Layayoga: The Definitive Guide to the Chakras and Kundalini

Shyam Sundar Goswami

Language: English

Pages: 368

ISBN: 0892817666

Format: PDF / Kindle (mobi) / ePub

The most comprehensive guide to chakra meditation and the ancient spiritual science of layayoga ever created. 

• One of the great works on yoga, available for the first time in the United States.

• Full-color plates illustrate each chakra. 

With the growing interest in energy medicine in the West, the ancient Hindu tradition of chakra meditation has become increasingly important to both healers and spiritual seekers. While new to us, the chakras have long been studied in the East, with the spiritual science of layayoga having the profoundest knowledge of these energy centers. The fundamental aspect of layayoga is the arousing of dormant energy within the body through concentration and breathing exercises and the movement of this energy through the chakras to achieve supreme consciousness. Unlike kundalini yoga, which starts with the lower chakras and moves energy upward, layayoga meditation starts with the Sahasrara, the spiritual chakra that crowns the aura, and brings energy down to spiritualize each chakra in turn. Layayoga has long been viewed as the most comprehensive and deeply researched examination of the chakras available in the West. Its detailed, illustrated look at each of the chakras and the various meditations and mantras that go with them makes it a must for serious students of yoga. 

Yoga for Men Only

Yoga at Home: Gain Energy, Flexibility, & Serenity in 20-30 Minutes a Day

Yoga, Karma, and Rebirth: A Brief History and Philosophy

The Yoga Tradition: Its History, Literature, Philosophy and Practice

The Serpent Power: The Secrets of Tantric and Shaktic Yoga




















of daily life and all humanitarian actions done with the purpose of pleasing God. Wirashakti is the power of formalization by which Shakti (Power) manifests herself in form. Shakti in form is endowed with eight superpowers (aishwarya) (—based on Sitopanishad, 34–7). Shakti appears in many forms. In the chakras, there are six main forms. They are in the six chakras from the muladhara to the ajña. They are called Dakini, Rakini, Lakini, Kakini, Shakini, and Hakini (—Shadamnayatantra, 6. 261–2).

qualities. Rakini is ‘seen’ in concentration in the enlivened hrit-lotus. Rakini is reducible to the mantra-form Eng. The bija-mantra of Rakini is Rang. The trishula (trident) can be reduced to Oung, obja (lotus) to Sang, Aing, and Drang, damaru (drum) to Khang, and taṅka (chisel) to Tang. 3 Manipura The manipura is the third chakra, above the swadhishthana, and lies in the chitrini nadi. Terminology The following are the Tantrika terms of the third chakra. 1 Manipura,

diet decreases sexual desire. Evidence shows that a diet comprising rice, vegetables and some fish maintains strong sexual desire. Overeating stimulates sexual desire. Similarly, highly complicated and rich food has the same effect. A short fast does not decrease sexual desire, but a prolonged fast causes a decrease. What do the yogis say about this question? First of all, let us investigate the mode of life they usually lead. We can classify the yogis into two groups: ordinary practitioners,

body as high as possible from the hips, inhaling. Lower the body, exhaling. Repeat 10 to 15 times. 6 Makara Raise. Assume prone-lying position with the hands clasped behind the head. Raise the body as high as possible from the hips, inhaling. Lower the body, exhaling. Repeat 10 to 15 times. 7 Locust Raise. Assume prone-lying position with the arms by the sides. Raise the legs from the hips as high as possible, inhaling. Lower the tegs, exhaling. Repeat 10 to 15 times. 8 Bow. Assume prone-lying

development of one-pointed consciousness. Unless the sensory principles are made inoperative by appropriate means, this cannot happen. The spiritual power is anti-multifarious and, consequently, is in the nature of concentratedness. The whole source of spiritual power in the individual organization is Kudalini—the coiled power. Kundalini is the Supreme Power in her spiritual aspect. But when the eternal energy of the Supreme Power is directed towards assuming a finite form, Kundalini remains

Download sample