The Yoga of the Nine Emotions: The Tantric Practice of Rasa Sadhana

The Yoga of the Nine Emotions: The Tantric Practice of Rasa Sadhana

Peter Marchand

Language: English

Pages: 224

ISBN: 1594770948

Format: PDF / Kindle (mobi) / ePub

A guide to changing negative emotions and promoting happiness using traditional Tantric and Ayurvedic practices

• Details the 9 Rasas that represent our basic emotions

• Offers emotional fasting exercises and daily routines for emotional well-being

• Shows how Rasa Sadhana can be integrated with other yoga practices

• Based on the teachings of Harish Johari

Rasas are the essence of our emotions that exist in both the body and the mind. The Tantric tradition recognizes 9 Rasas that represent our basic emotions: love, humor, wonder, courage, calmness, anger, sadness, fear, and disgust. Those who practice Rasa Sadhana learn to overcome negative emotions in order to pursue better health, enhanced spiritual growth, and enduring happiness.

Our emotions are continuously affected by the interplay of our senses, the elements, food, and the life force in our body. In The Yoga of the Nine Emotions, Peter Marchand offers many practical physiological and philosophical tools from Tantric and Ayurvedic traditions that can help readers change their emotional patterns. He explains the nature and purpose of each Rasa and how we can strengthen or weaken one Rasa through another. He also offers Ayurvedic cooking guidelines and daily routines for balancing sensory input and strengthening emotional health, including fasting from negative emotions as well as how to energize positive ones. As we master our emotions through the practice of Rasa Sadhana, we gain true control of our lives and our relationships with others.

Yoga and Fertility: A Journey to Health and Healing

The Yoga Tradition: Its History, Literature, Philosophy and Practice

The Tibetan Yoga of Breath: Breathing Practices for Healing the Body and Cultivating Wisdom

The Five Tibetans Yoga Workshop: Tone Your Body and Transform Your Life












long as we do not seek to blame anyone or our self for our misfortune, it remains just Sadness. When blame becomes the subject, then Sadness turns into Anger or Disgust. When God or life is blamed, faith is lost and the combination of Sadness, Anger, and Disgust may cause depression for a very long period. In Bhakti Yoga, a kind of Sadness exists that is actually a part of Shringara (Vipralambha Shringara): The feeling of Sadness that comes when we feel separated from God (see chapter 5). That

Feelings of Wonder at one’s capacity to provoke others only increase the Courage to take it even further. When a disgusted person is confronted with wonderful deeds of others, it often just stimulates the negative self-image. Shringara as Love and Beauty is the enemy Rasa that can be used to cure Disgust. Expressing Love and receiving Love keeps the ego satisfied with itself and others and helps to remove the attention from past suffering from the egotism of others. Creating a beautiful

electrical current. As long as science provides no conclusive information on this subject, we should be careful of contact with the many types of energy waves created by modern appliances, from cellular phones to high-tension power lines. 17 Cooking Emotions Foods feed both matter and mind. The Rasa Dhatu The seven dhatus are the principal constituents of the body, literally the “body tissues.” They need nourishment and give form to the physical body. Rasa as plasma or “nutritive juice” is

engage all the senses—through focusing on the icons of deities, lighting incense, ringing bells, and chanting mantras—in order to stimulate those Rasas and thoughts that we cherish. Spiritual worship of any kind strengthens the higher aspects of the Rasas of Calmness, Wonder, and Love inside us. The best time for spiritual rituals is the morning. They will be the most beneficial when performed while being clean inside and outside. An image or yantra of a deity symbolizes the form or body of the

exhaustion, 63 expectations, 69, 72 eyes, 71 fasting, 67, 76, 107–8, 120–21, 171 fats, 76, 134, 137 Fear (Bhayanaka), 7, 15, 70 basis of, 96–97 in the body, 97–98 changing your body chemistry, 152 Fear Sadhana, 100–101 mastering, 99–100 relationship to other Rasas, 40, 51, 58–59, 65, 71, 75, 92, 98–99, 106 setting objectives and, 121 sub-rasas of, 97 summary of, 101–2 Yama and, 100 fenugreek leaves, 91 fifth chakra, 36, 49 fight-or-flight response, 98 fire element, 14, 50, 71,

Download sample